StepFun (阶跃星辰) at a glance
- Provider
- StepFun (阶跃星辰)
- Models
- Step 5 Preview
- What's free
- StepFun announced a week of free access to Step 5 Preview starting Oct 8, 2026 in coding tools including OpenCode, Cline, Nous Research (Nous Portal) and Kilo Code. Step 5 Preview is also listed on OpenRouter, but the announcement doesn't say OpenRouter access is free.
- Limits
- Free use happens inside the partner tools. Per-tool usage caps aren't published.
- Deadline / expiry
- About Oct 15, 2026 ("a week" from Oct 8; exact end time not published)
- Extended?
- No (as of this check)
- Commercial use?
- Not specified on the official page; check the provider's terms.
- Card required?
- Not stated; depends on the tool.
- Phone required?
- Not stated on the official page.
- Region
- Not stated on the official page
- Last verified
- Official source
- @StepFun_ai on X (Oct 8, 2026) ↗
How to get it (official steps)
- Open one of the partner tools (OpenCode, Cline, Kilo Code or Nous Portal)
- Select Step 5 Preview in the model picker
- Use it during the free week
Use one account per person and follow the provider's terms. We don't cover multiple accounts, bulk sign-ups or reselling keys; providers ban them and often pull free offers because of abuse.
How we verified this
We checked this offer on Oct 9, 2026 against the provider's own official X: @StepFun_ai on X (Oct 8, 2026) ↗. Where the provider doesn't publish a number, we say “not published” and don't guess. Offers change often; the official page always wins.
Frequently asked questions
Is StepFun (阶跃星辰) really free?
StepFun announced a week of free access to Step 5 Preview starting Oct 8, 2026 in coding tools including OpenCode, Cline, Nous Research (Nous Portal) and Kilo Code. Step 5 Preview is also listed on OpenRouter, but the announcement doesn't say OpenRouter access is free.
What are the StepFun (阶跃星辰) free limits?
Free use happens inside the partner tools. Per-tool usage caps aren't published.
When does it end?
About Oct 15, 2026 ("a week" from Oct 8; exact end time not published)
Do I need a credit card or phone number?
Card: Not stated; depends on the tool. Phone: Not stated on the official page.
Can I use it commercially?
Not specified on the official page; check the provider's terms.
More free AI offers
- GMI Cloud (with Alibaba Qwen)Ending soon Oct 11, 2026 (per GMI's reply on X; timezone not stated)
- Qoder (Alibaba)Extended Extended past Sep 30, 2026; Qoder says it will post the end date on the page in advance
- Alibaba Cloud Model Studio (Qwen)Active Quota expires 90 days after activation
- CerebrasActive Credits expire 30 days after they're granted
- Cloudflare Workers AIOngoing Ongoing (no end date published)
- Google (Gemini API / AI Studio)Ongoing Ongoing (no end date published)
← All free AI API credits & offers