Mistral AI at a glance
- Provider
- Mistral AI
- Models
- Mistral models on the API (e.g. mistral-small-latest)
- What's free
- New Mistral accounts start in Free mode, with API access on by default and no credit card required. Free mode includes a monthly usage allowance with rate limits.
- Limits
- Mistral doesn't publish the Free mode amounts in its docs. Your included monthly usage and rate limits are shown on the Limits page in Studio. Pay-as-you-go extends usage beyond the included amount.
- Deadline / expiry
- Ongoing (no end date published)
- Extended?
- Not applicable
- Commercial use?
- Not specified on the official page; check the provider's terms.
- Card required?
- No (per Mistral's quickstart).
- Phone required?
- Not stated on the official page.
- Region
- Not stated on the official page
- Last verified
- Official source
- Mistral Docs: Activate Studio and generate an API key ↗
How to get it (official steps)
- Create a Mistral account and open Studio (console.mistral.ai)
- Go to API Keys and click Create new key
- Copy the key (it's shown only once)
- Test with a model such as mistral-small-latest
Use one account per person and follow the provider's terms. We don't cover multiple accounts, bulk sign-ups or reselling keys; providers ban them and often pull free offers because of abuse.
Good to know
Third-party posts mention a fixed monthly dollar credit; Mistral's docs don't publish one, so we don't list a number.
How we verified this
We checked this offer on Oct 9, 2026 against the provider's own official docs: Mistral Docs: Activate Studio and generate an API key ↗. Where the provider doesn't publish a number, we say “not published” and don't guess. Offers change often; the official page always wins.
Frequently asked questions
Is Mistral AI really free?
New Mistral accounts start in Free mode, with API access on by default and no credit card required. Free mode includes a monthly usage allowance with rate limits.
What are the Mistral AI free limits?
Mistral doesn't publish the Free mode amounts in its docs. Your included monthly usage and rate limits are shown on the Limits page in Studio. Pay-as-you-go extends usage beyond the included amount.
When does it end?
Ongoing (no end date published)
Do I need a credit card or phone number?
Card: No (per Mistral's quickstart). Phone: Not stated on the official page.
Can I use it commercially?
Not specified on the official page; check the provider's terms.
More free AI offers
- Cloudflare Workers AIOngoing Ongoing (no end date published)
- Google (Gemini API / AI Studio)Ongoing Ongoing (no end date published)
- GroqOngoing Ongoing (no end date published)
- NVIDIA (NIM / build.nvidia.com)Ongoing Ongoing while you're a program member
- OpenRouterOngoing Ongoing (individual free models come and go)
- Zhipu AI / Z.ai (GLM)Ongoing Ongoing (no end date published)
← All free AI API credits & offers